D I Y Pull-out Sofa Sleeper in Glamper RV

Pull Out Sofa Sleeper in Our Glamper Caravan Home — Part I

 

We’re hoping the third time is a charm, because that’s how many times Hubby has rebuilt this sofa sleeper/daybed in the caravan home we so lovingly refer to as Mermaid Mansion.  Unseen in these photos, there is a window seat on the opposite wall, that doubles as much-needed storage.  With a wooden insert/extension (also not pictured in this post), the bed stretches the width of our tiny home.

Living in less than 200 square feet of space…it’s becoming old hat to discover new and different ways to make the most of our living space, or lack of it.  :  )  And all in all,  I’d say this last sofa sleeper design is the best Nico has designed so far.  I was inspired by ideas I saw on Pinterest; so I showed Hubby…and we engineered our own version.  Now on to the challenge of solving the problem of a comfortable mattress to fit our new bed.

Though, I think I might have that problem solved as well.  I was inspired by a friend who created a mattress for her son’s bed out of a shower curtain and pillows.  I’ll be incorporating large lengths/widths of fabric, and encasing foam cushions at three sides (for easy removal to wash the mattress-cover) into a tri-fold design to fit beneath our sofa seat (see pics above).

All in all, this design that my Hubby came up with is pretty simple if you have some carpentry skills and a few necessary tools for the job.  It certainly has made folding and unfolding our bed/sofa much easier on my back.  I hope it helps a few of our fellow tiny house living friends and followers to achieve the rebuild and remodel of their dreams.

Thanks for reading and following our Travel  Trailer Remodeling Blog.  We always welcome your comments.  :  )  Merry Christmas to all, and a Happy New Year, too!

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

