Caravan Kitchen Remodeling Part IV

PART IV

For three days-straight, Nico has been working on our Island Caravan kitchen here at Mermaid Mansion, while I kept our little’n entertained.  Even still, we found a bit of time to head to the beach.  It’s seaweed season on the Gulf Coast, and…Man!  Is it ever smelly!  : p  If you’ve had the ‘experience’ of walking barefoot on seaweed, you likely know, it’s a very different texture and feel than just-about any other surface I’ve encountered on this earth (literally).  It doesn’t bother me much, but Nico isn’t too keen on it; neither is Baby.  She screamed for Daddy to carry her over a mass of mysterious weeds (what she was probably thinking anyway), to the rising tide.

Even though it wasn’t our usual trip to the beach, strolling along on the sand (minus the seaweed), it was a much-needed break from remodeling the kitchen in our retro vintage travel trailer.  Surprisingly, Nico got the entirety of it built (frame-work, plywood, bead-board facing, counter top, sink and faucet installed…including plumbing and running pipes and such) in less than a week; with only 3 days off from work to construct the bulk of it.  I am so proud of what my husband has done for our little family, for our caravan island, small space dwelling, Mermaid Mansion…home.  :  )

Even though we still have a few finishing touches, and problems with a very leaky faucet (one we salvaged from a throw-away pile) exploding in my face (lucky I know where the shut-off valve is) our kitchen space finally makes some sense.  I’m looking forward to painting and decorating my brand new, custom built for me, Caravan kitchen.

For anyone who has seen the ‘before’ pics of our old trailer, you likely know how far we’ve come.  It’s been a year this Memorial Day weekend, since we brought our tired old RV Camper to the island, but I wouldn’t trade our unique and rather eccentric Glamped up trailer for a new ‘just like the rest’ RV, for all the treasure in the deep blue sea.  We are proud of our old Glamper.  The hard work and creativity we’ve put into our old caravan home has been worth it; every bit!

*Our Caravan Kitchen — Last Night*

Image

Caravan Kitchen — Almost Complete

*RV Kitchen Remodeling — Final Stages*

Final Stages of Caravan Trailer Kitchen Reconstruction
Final Stages of Caravan Trailer Kitchen Reconstruction
Travel Trailer Kitchen Rebuild
Travel Trailer Kitchen Rebuild
Sink Installed
Sink Installed
Hard at Work Remodeling & Reconstructing Kitchen
Hard at Work Remodeling & Reconstructing Kitchen
Salvage Faucet Install
Salvage Faucet Install
Island Caravan Kitchen at Mermaid Mansion
Island Caravan Kitchen at Mermaid Mansion
9 Comments Add yours

  1. breid1903 says:

    google “flexible tile mud for for countertops in rvs”. http://www.flextile.com. i know nothing. i get no spiff. google how to do with rv tile work. float the wording around. there are a whole bunch of people that have tried it all. some of it even works. here you are and there you go. tile your world by john p. bridge. mistflower press. this is my tile bible.

    schluter makes DITRA. it is a mat to use over fractured concrete. youtube “schluter ditra uncoupling membrane installation’. if i were to do it ditra would be it. but i’m not paying. schluter has made me look really smart over the years. i believe this is what nico is referring to. schluter is best.

    old dixie. i think that it is part of the oven control. but i don’t take them apart if they work. it could be a high limit control. i don’t know. does it work? properly, as in on and off? get an oven thermometer and check. i have never seen any books or manuals. i wouldn’t know how to act if i was to find one. mostly because there is no time to look. people call, they want you now. i’m going to start looking. if i get a book i can retire.

    i will reread this tomorrow and post corrections.

    peaceup raz

    1. gypsyvinrose says:

      Thanks so much, Raz. I’ll certainly start looking for the flexible tile mud. I’d rather pay for the best I can get, than have to re-tile later. : / As for the Dixie, we’re getting her going, but have had so many other things that must come first. : ( I’ve been cooking (or trying to) on an electric double burner top (which is only working on one side…after not-even a year of use). It’s slooooowww! I will never buy another one of these electric cook-tops. Ever…! We bought this one at Target. It’s stainless ‘look’ and black. For me, the only way to cook a proper meal in a timely manner is to use natural propane or gas; whichever applies. I am so looking forward to using my old Dixie stove.

      Thanks again for all the great advice! : ) Blessings & .V..

  2. breid1903 says:

    tell nico “GOOD JOB”. small ones are the hardest. keyhole jobs. it all has to fit in like keyed slots. if i did that it would north of 2k.

    i’m a master plumber. i’ve had the exploding faucet before. mine was in the bath. i’m not picking on you here but when you turn on the water to leak test just barely crack the shutoff. when the water hisses you are good. then open the faucets on top until water comes out. then shut off the faucets. check for leaks. there will be pressure in pipe. when something blows up and if you do enough of these more will. the water will just trickle out. tuesday i was over 2 minutes away and i run every morning. another plus is you don’t have to finish washing your ceiling.

    i usually mount sink and faucet before i set counter top. do you have easy access to cabinet under sink? nico may find it easier to remove dishwasher to work under sink. i would suggest that faucet be taken apart and all the treads have ” SILICONE plumbers grease” applied. silicone only. dish washer drain needs to go up to above the height of sink. if you don’t you maybe ok or drain hose will siphon the machine. if you are losing water raise the drain. they make vents for them. may not be a code thing in your state. it will be fine without. water to dw should be from HOT line. the heaters are not made to raise cold water that high and may burn up the elements.

    material of the counter top please? thank you.

    peaceup raz

    1. breid1903 says:

      dishwasher drain goes up to or close to bottom of counter top. sorry about that.

      peaceup raz

      1. gypsyvinrose says:

        : )
        Thanks again!

      2. gypsyvinrose says:

        Hi again, Raz. I forgot to answer a few of your questions…so here goes. I’ll answer the best I can. : )
        The counter-top is just a temporary fix right now; something Nico brought home from work, that was being thrown out. It’s a sort of thin plastic sheet (especially for counter tops) that is made to look like marble? I have no clue what it’s called. But that’s the best I can describe it. haha
        We (me, really), would like to finish the top in Mexican tile that is tinted a sea turquoise green, but Nico says when we move our trailer or travel, it will break up all the tile work and grout from the vibrations or the road. However, he says there’s some stuff that you can use that is kind of ‘rubberized’ and more flexible; made for when houses shift and such. I’m still researching this, because I have my heart set on some beautiful tile I found. I can see it already! Either way, the counter remains a temp fix til then.
        Also, I wanted to ask you, regarding my Dixie Stove. There is a little rod of sorts hanging down in the oven from the top, and we have no clue why it’s hanging. Nico assumes it’s part of the thermostat, but it doesn’t look to be in the right place, or perhaps it’s broken? I’ll post pics for you to see as soon as I can…if need-be?
        Any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again for all your help. : )

      3. gypsyvinrose says:

        Hey Raz. : )

        I just sent a reply, but *poof!* it disappeared after I pressed ‘reply’. Not sure what happened there. : / Either way, about the countertop…
        We are using a piece of plastic type counter ‘laminate?’ that Nico salvaged from the throw away pile at work. It is only temporary, since I have my heart set on some tinted Mexican tile I found. Nico doesn’t think it’ll hold up when we get our old girl (caravan trailer) back on the road, and the vibration will crumble the tile grout and wreck our tile work.
        However, because he wants to make me happy, he says there’s something like a rubberized…more flexible grout substance that we might be able to use, but we have no idea what it’s called. I guess that means I have a lot of research to do if I’m going to get my tiled counter top. haha
        Also, he’s still trying to figure out the Dixie stove, just to be safe that he’s hooked it all up correctly. In the oven, we’re stumped on something. There’s a rod of sorts hanging down from the top. Nico believes it’s part of the thermostat, and is possibly loose or broken? We’re not sure, so I will also be looking for a book or manual for our old stove. Any pointers you have would be greatly appreciated.
        You’ve already bee so helpful and generous with your advice and knowledge. Thanks so much for all your comments. : ) Hope to hear from you soon.

    2. gypsyvinrose says:

      Hey Raz.

      Thanks so much for your advise and comments. : ) I’ll try to answer as much as I understand about plumbing talk…which is very little. The sink faucet is just a temporary ‘make shift’ until we can afford to buy the one we like at Home Depot. : ) We’re going with chrome, since I prefer the shiny finish to the mat-color nickel. I thought about stainless, but I haven’t seen any here on the island, and I want to see before I buy.

      As for the dishwasher, I think what you’re seeing in the pic is our little ‘pint-size’ fridge. We’ve decided not to install any extra appliances that I really don’t use and will take up space.
      The plumbing part, well….hahaha, (I’m clueless here), Nico got all the pipes tight, but I ‘somehow’ managed to unscrew the faucet handle and the thingy that holds the screw in the middle just popped out and, of course, the ceiling was washed…quite thoroughly. : )

      For now, since the trim and bead board is now in place, I am trying to get around to painting it all, so the edges and flow together. All in all, I feel ecstatic to finally have a functioning, and pretty, kitchen.
      I’ll show your comment to Nico, so he can comment on the plumbing parts. Thanks again for your advise. : )
      Have a wonderful day!

    3. gypsyvinrose says:

      Hey Raz. : )

      I just sent a reply, but *poof!* it disappeared after I pressed ‘reply’. Not sure what happened there. : / Either way, about the counter-top…
      We are using a piece of plastic type counter ‘laminate?’ that is made to look like marble. Nico salvaged it from the throw-away pile at work. It is only temporary, since I have my heart set on some tinted Mexican tile I found. Nico doesn’t think it’ll hold up when we get our old girl (caravan trailer) back on the road, and the vibration will crumble the tile grout and wreck our tile work.
      However, because he wants to make me happy, he says there’s something like a rubberized…more flexible grout substance that we might be able to use, but we have no idea what it’s called. I guess that means I have a lot of research to do if I’m going to get my tiled counter top. haha
      Also, he’s still trying to figure out the Dixie stove, just to be safe that he’s hooked it all up correctly. In the oven, we’re stumped on something. There’s a rod of sorts hanging down from the top. Nico believes it’s part of the thermostat, and is possibly loose or broken? We’re not sure, so I will also be looking for a book or manual for our old stove. Any pointers you have would be greatly appreciated.
      You’ve already been so helpful and generous with your advice and knowledge. Thanks so much for all your comments. : ) Hope to hear from you soon.

Leave a Reply

